Thu, 05 Oct 2023

Wellington [New Zealand], June 8 (ANI): New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced the list of players to have received the central contracts for the 2023-24 season with pacer Adam Milne being offered a central contract for the first time in five years.

"Fast-bowler Adam Milne has been offered an NZC central contract for the first time in five years," said a statement from NZC on Thursday.

Milne's elevation to the list comes on the back of his most productive international season, in which he appeared 16 times for the Blackcaps (11 T20Is and five ODIs) claiming 24 wickets at an average of 24, including a career-best 5-26 in the second T20I against Sri Lanka, the third best T20I figures by a New Zealander.

The 31-year-old, who made his international debut in 2010, was part of the Blackcaps' past two ICC T20 World Cup campaigns.

NZ coach Gary Stead said Milne's offer of a central contract was well-deserved and reflected his strong and ongoing commitment to playing international cricket for New Zealand.

"Adam has worked exceptionally hard and has shown good resilience over the past few years to be in a position to earn this contract offer," said Stead.

"He is always been a top-class bowler and we were impressed by his consistent contributions in the recent home summer and tour of Pakistan," added Stead.

Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, and Blair Tickner have been retained after joining last year's list mid-season, replacing Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme and Martin Guptill - all of whom requested and were granted releases.

Spinner Ajaz Patel, who featured in the list last year but played in just two Tests during the period, has not been offered a central contract.

Boult, while again declining a central contract, has committed to being available for the Blackcaps for part of the playing programme and, on that basis, has been offered a casual playing agreement.

Under the terms of the Master Agreement, the players have until June 12 to accept or decline the contract offers.

Players offered central contracts for 2023/24: Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young. (ANI)

More New Zealand News

Access More

Sign up for New Zealand News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!