Wed, 06 Jul 2022

Women's World Cup draw to be hosted in October

13 May 2022, 17:55 GMT+10

CANBERRA, May 13 (Xinhua) -- The draw for the 2023 Women's World Cup will take place on October 22, FIFA announced on Friday.

Fatma Samoura, the Secretary-General of FIFA, and New Zealand Deputy Prime Minister Grant Robertson on Friday revealed the draw for the ninth Women's World Cup to be hosted in Auckland.

Australia and New Zealand, placed in Group B and Group A respectively, will co-host the tournament, which kicks off on July 20, 2023.

As the largest Women's World Cup ever featuring 32 teams, up from 24, the tournament will be spread across five Australian and four New Zealand cities, with Auckland - also known as Tamaki Makaurau - hosting the opening match.

"Preparations are well underway in Australia and New Zealand to welcome the world's largest women's single-sport event. The official draw in October marks an important milestone for teams and fans in the countdown to the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023," Samoura said in a statement.

"We are excited about the influence and potential of this tournament to inspire and encourage more girls and women to get involved in football and we look forward to the draw setting the stage for the FIFA Women's World Cup to reach Beyond Greatness."

In addition to the hosts, nine other countries have qualified for the World Cup - China, Vietnam, South Korea, Japan, the Philippines, Sweden, Denmark, Spain, and France.

The next 18 places will be decided in confederation tournaments taking place between July and October.

The final three teams will qualify via the Play-Off Tournament in Australia and New Zealand in February 2023.

The World Cup final will be played at Sydney's Stadium Australia on August 20.

More New Zealand News

Access More

Sign up for New Zealand News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!